Covergirl Flamed Out Mascara Review

Hey Guys

Last year I went on holiday to America, where I managed to get my hand on quite a few makeup products that we here in the England don’t have. One of the brands that I did make sure to stock up on was Covergirl, which is supposedly the sister brand to Max Factor. One of the products I got was their Flamed Out mascara, which maybe old having been released in 2013. But hey a mascara doesn’t have to be newly released in order to buy it right? I decided it was time to open a new mascara as I was getting bored with using the same old brands. So I decided to open this mascara to see if it is all that it’s cracked up to be.

I bought this mascara from Target and at the time I purchased it for $5.99 (I think) which works out to be £3.50 at the exchange rate of £1 = $1.71 (which was the rate I got when I went last year). That to me is a good price considering mascara’s here in England are quite pricey at least for brands like Maybelline, L’Oreal Paris, Max Factor, Rimmel etc whose prices start from £5.99 for a decent mascara.
As of right now the retail price for this mascara currently ranges from $3.99 – $6.99 depending on which store you purchase it from.

The front of the packaging case advertises the mascara as being volumizing stating in big bold font “Max Volume” on the top left hand corner. In the bottom right hand corner the mascara advertises as being 3x volume, the mascara color that I bought is 300 very black blaze which is stated in the top right hand corner.

The back of the packaging case says “The hourglass shaped wire brush is specifically designed to sweep lashes up and out to help maximize volume. Designed for buildable volume, the brush adds volume to EVERY lash for bigger, thicker and fuller lashes.”

At first glance, I have to say I thought the packaging was cute, yet simple. I like the fact that the packaging of the mascara represents the name well, with the pinky purple ribbon like flames over the reddish-orange like colour tube (the photo doesn’t show the true colour of the tube as opposed to if you saw it in person). And a simple reflective silver font with Covergirl one side and the name “flamed out” on the other.

Looking at the wand it has an hour-glass shape to it, which I think the company chose because it was their way of trying to make a wand that would be able to pick up on all the lashes at once, making sure they are coated with mascara within the first sweep. Especially since most mascara wands seem to make it either impossible or hard to coat all your lashes in one stroke, which means having to break down your routine by coating the lashes at different times. Like for me, I sweep my lashes on the first stroke and then go over any lashes that I feel have been left out starting from the outer, then doing the inner and sweeping all the lashes over again until I’m satisfied overall with how my lashes look. I am going to give you my own review of the mascara, showing you the results that I got from using Covergirl Flamed Out mascara and whether I think it is worth the money and if I would purchase it again or not. I will be doing 3 coats to see the difference between each and how it builds up. Even though, personally I would normally only apply 1 coat as I don’t like to have spidery looking eyelashes as I am not a fan of them.

My bare lashes without any mascara

This first picture is of my bare lashes before I applied the mascara. I did not curl my lashes before applying as I prefer not to use an eyelash curler, because not only does it not work for me but also I don’t feel that I really need it (at least in my opinion I don’t). My lashes are medium length and not too thick but they’re not too thin, so I would say I’m in the middle when it comes to the look of my lashes without any product on them.

My eyelashes with 1 coat of mascara

This picture is of my eyelashes (above) with the first coat of mascara, looking at the top picture you can see a tiny bit of volume. Otherwise I feel I mostly got length with this mascara as opposed to volume from looking at the second picture.

My eyelashes with a 2nd coat of mascara

This picture is of my eyelashes (above) is with 2 coats of mascara. Looking at the top picture you can’t really see much volume, it almost seems like the lashes are beginning to clump with the second coat. Which you can tell more clearly in the second picture, the lashes are clumping together but still gives length at least for the middle lashes.

My eyelashes with a 3rd coat of mascara

By the third coat, my lashes were still a little bit curled (even though I did not use an eyelash curler). But from the bottom picture you could tell they were more spidery looking with a lot of length, as with each coat the lashes began to clump together as opposed to separate and create more volume. It just kept giving more and more of length and remember my lashes aren’t even that long to begin with.

Overall, I would give this mascara a 6 out of 10 because it isn’t all that bad, I mean it did give a little volume in the first coat and did a good job with giving a lot of length. Like I mentioned before I prefer sticking to one coat just because I don’t want to clump my lashes, so I will continue to use it. However, I felt the mascara was let down with the fact that the packaging cover overly advertising it as being a volumizing mascara stating “Max Volume” and “3x Volume”. Because of this, it let the mascara down and my expectations of finally finding a mascara that gave me volume as opposed to length only. Would I buy this product again? I doubt it, not just because I wouldn’t be able to get my hands on it unless I went to The States, but just because I could probably find another mascara like this here in England.

If you have tried this product, let me know what you think about whether you liked it or not and if you would buy it again. For those of you who haven’t tried this mascara let me know from looking at my review would you buy it.

UPDATE: 22/06/15 I have been using this mascara for a month now (which I know is quite a short period to be able to give a review on), but nonetheless I have to say the mascara is beginning to grow on me. Plus I found if I use this with Maybelline’s The Colossal Volum’ Express then I get both volume and length.
If you want me to post a picture of the results with both mascaras then leave me a comment and let me know.


BBlue & BPink (WBG)


     Twitter   ||   Instagram   ||   Personal Insta ||   Pinterest

 

4 thoughts on “Covergirl Flamed Out Mascara Review

  1. Pingback: January Favorites!
  2. Pingback: March Favorites

Leave a Reply

