Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara Review

Hey Guys

So I realized it been quite a while since I’ve done a review, in this case it’s been forever since I’ve done a mascara review. Being a mascara junkie and all I thought to myself, why don’t I do a review on a mascara from “my top 3 favourites” as it is one that I have been using a lot lately.
The mascara that I am reviewing, if you didn’t know already from the title is Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express. I actually received this mascara as a gift.

The prices for this particular mascara is as followed:

Price Range (UK)

  • Superdrug – £6.99 Special offer: 3 for 2 – cheapest free
  • Boots – £6.99 Special offer: 3 for 2 (selected Maybelline products) – cheapest free

Price Range (USA)

  • Ulta – $6.99 Special offer: Buy 1 get 1 at 50% off
  • Target – $5.29 – $5.99
  • Walmart – $5.73

I don’t have the original packaging that the mascara came in, so I don’t know what claims are written on the packaging. However, looking online at the website it says the following:

  • COLOSSAL LASHES IN JUST ONE COAT!
  • CREATES 9X THE VOULME, instantly

Whether the mascara adheres to those particular claims, we will have to wait and see after looking at the results.

 

        w/o flash on left and with flash on the right

From looking at the shape of the mascara tube in the picture above, you can notice that it is different from the shape of the ones sold here in the UK. The mascara I have is actually from The States (yes I know it seems like everything I own is from there, but I can’t help it). Anyways for some reason all the Maybelline Volum’ Express mascara tubes in The States seem to slimmer then the ones here in The U.K, except The Rocket which has the same shape everywhere. Other than the shape of this particular mascara, everything else is the same when it comes the formula and color variations.

    w/o flash on left and with flash on the right

The wand is just a regular wand, nothing special to the shape or size. I would say it’s just a typical looking wand that you would find in quite a few mascaras. The wand is a tapered wand with synthetic bristles. The tip of the wand is tapered, which gradually begins to open up. From the middle of the wand to the bottom of the wand the bristles are the same length. Having a tapered tip can be pretty useful on a mascara wand as the tapered tip helps to coat your small inner lashes.

IMG_6697
My bare lashes without any mascara

So the picture above is of my lashes without any product on it whatsoever. I would say my lashes are medium length and are in the middle, when it comes to identifying them as whether they are sparse or thick.

One coat of mascara

This trio picture shown above is of my lashes, with just one coat of Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express mascara. Looking at my lashes you can see that they don’t look much different then without mascara, besides the fact that my lashes look darker from the color payoff.

IMG_8005
Two coats of mascara

The trio picture shown above is of my lashes, with two coats of the Maybelline mascara. Looking at my lashes in those pictures you can see that there is more volume to my lashes. Especially if you look at the second and third picture in the trio and compare it to the second and third picture in the previous one coat of mascara photo. There does seem to be a little bit of clumping on the inner lashes, but not as much as I would have thought especially with having applied two coats of mascara.

 

 

Three coats of mascara

The final trio picture shown above is my lashes, but with three coats of Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express mascara. Looking at all three pictures in the trio, you can see the mascara color has a good payoff as my lashes are looking blacker then ever. By the third coat I have to say I was actually quite surprised, there isn’t as much clumping as I would have thought or expected which is a good thing.  Especially since I hate when the mascara begins to clump the lashes together, because they become spidery looking and I hate spidery looking lashes.

Overall, I would have to say I give this mascara 8 and 1/2 out of 10. It did give volume that’s for sure and manage to do it with as little clumping as possible. The thing I didn’t like was that with one coat of mascara it didn’t look like it made a difference, or even look like I was wearing mascara at all. This meant their claim on “Colossal lashes in just one coat!” wasn’t true looking at the results in my first coat of mascara picture. Their other claim of “creating 9x the volume, instantly” isn’t 100% true as it did take me three coats to get at least 6x the volume in my opinion. I don’t believe this mascara was a let down for me, but when it came to the claims they weren’t exactly 100% accurate. Would the inaccurate claims stop me from buying this mascara? I would say no. Would I buy this product again? Definitely yes! Finding a mascara that says it gives volume can be hard to find, as most tend to give length as opposed to volume even though it claims it’s for volume. However in this mascara Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express, you end up with volume just like they said you would.

If you have tried this product, let me know what you think about whether you liked it or not and if you would buy it again. For those of you who haven’t tried this mascara let me know if you would buy it, from having looked at my review.


BBlue & BPink (WBG)


     Twitter   ||   Instagram   ||   Personal Insta ||   Pinterest

 

2 thoughts on “Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara Review

  1. Pingback: January Favorites!

Leave a Reply

